Failure on Expcted Value = '(null)', Actual Value = '(null)'

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
Bey

Failure on Expcted Value = '(null)', Actual Value = '(null)'

Post by Bey » Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:40 pm

I am a novice. Just started using Ranorex.
I recorded a very short VB6 session involving a login form.
As one of the first steps, I placed a validation on the LoginID text box to verify it is blank.
The step failed indicating that the expected value is '' but the actual value is '(null)'
So, i edited the Properties, saved and replayed.
Step failed again but, this time indicating that the actual value is the expected value - as shown below:

Replay (item #6) could not be completed because Attribute 'Text' of element for item 'FormGIFTS_Login.TextText1' does not match the specified value (actual='(null)', expected='(null)').

So, how does one specify a generic "blank" validation on the text element of the textbox object that will succeed if the length of the object is 0 (regardless of whether it is null or empty string)?

Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Failure on Expcted Value = '(null)', Actual Value = '(null)'

Post by Support Team » Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:02 pm

Hi,

To validate the string of a text box, just but the string into the recording action. In you case you want to check if the text-box is empty. Therefore just delete the string and leave it empty. Then Ranorex should be able to check the empty string. The null keyword at the moment is not supported. This keyword will be available in a future release for Ranorex.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

Bey

Post by Bey » Sun Oct 24, 2010 4:19 am

Thanks Peter,

I guess i was not clear enough.

What i am reporting is that initially, i just took the default which was blank (nothing, nada, zilch, zippo - there were no characters in the value of the attribute shown by Ranorex in Properties)
But Ranorex's report indicated that the actual value of '(null)' does not match the expected value of "".